EMT–Intermediate to Paramedic Program

Classes begin January 15, 2016!

Course Description:
The Emergency Medical Technician Intermediate – Paramedic Program is designed to certify the technician to the highest level of pre‐hospital advanced life support care available in Virginia. This program fulfills all the requirements of the 2010 National EMS Education Standard for Paramedic. The Paramedic program expands on the skills and subjects contained in the Enhanced and Intermediate courses. A minimum of 136 hours is devoted to extensive clinical rotations in specialty critical care units. Clinical rotations of this type are not usually available for lower level providers to attend. These additional clinical rotations include time spent in OR/Recovery Units, Critical Care Units, Labor & Delivery Units, Pediatrics, Emergency Department, Family Practice, Mental Health Clinics, Dialysis Clinics, Neurovascular Rehabilitation Clinics, Detoxification Units, and Extended Care Facilities. The Paramedic Program is designed to educate the technician in all areas of pre‐hospital patient care. These areas include instruction in: pre‐hospital environments, preparatory skills, airway management and ventilation, patient assessment, trauma care, medical patient management, obstetrical/gynecological conditions, pediatric patients, neonatal care, psychiatric and behavioral emergencies, special considerations, and assessment based management. In Virginia, all initial Paramedic Programs are required to satisfy the testing guidelines established by the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians. Upon receiving Virginia credentials, the Paramedic has the option to maintain National Registry Paramedic certification without affecting their Virginia certification, however, Virginia certification must be maintained in order to provide patient care at this level in this state.

Course Prerequisites:
To be eligible to attend an EMT‐I to EMT‐P bridge course in Virginia you must:

  1. Be proficient in reading, writing and speaking the English language.
  2. Be a minimum of 18 years of age at the beginning date of the certification course.
  3. Hold a current certification as an EMT‐Intermediate.
  4. Hold, at a minimum, a High School or General Equivalency Diploma.
  5. Have no physical or mental impairment that would render them unable to perform all practical skills required for that level of certification
  6. Not have been convicted of or found guilty of any crime, offense or regulatory violation, or participated in any other prohibited conduct identified in state EMS regulations as follows:
  • Have never been convicted or found guilty of any crime involving sexual misconduct where lack of affirmative consent by the victim is an element of the crime.
  • Have never been convicted of a felony involving the sexual or physical abuse of children, the elderly or the infirm.
  • Have never been convicted or found guilty of any crime (including abuse, neglect, theft from, or financial exploration) of a person entrusted to their care or protection in which the victim is a patient or is a resident of a health care facility.
  • Have never been convicted or found guilty of any crime involving the use, possession, or distribution of illegal drugs except that the person is eligible for affiliation or enrollment five years after the date of final release if no additional crimes of this type have been committed during that time.
  • Have never been convicted or found guilty of any other act that is a felony except that the felon is eligible for affiliation or enrollment five years after the date of final release if no additional felonies have been committed during that time F. Are not currently under any disciplinary or enforcement action from another state EMS office or other recognized state or national healthcare provider licensing or certifying body. Personnel subject to these disciplinary or enforcement actions may be eligible for certification provided there have been no further disciplinary or enforcement actions for five years prior to application for certification in Virginia
  • Have never been subject to a permanent revocation of license or certification by another state EMS office or recognized state or national healthcare provider licensing or certifying body.
  1. All references to criminal acts or convictions under this section refer to substantially similar laws or regulations of any other state or the United States. Convictions include prior adult convictions, juvenile convictions, and adjudications of delinquency based on an offense that would have been, at the time of conviction, a felony conviction if committed by an adult within or outside Virginia.
  2. Be clean and neat in appearance.
  3. May not be under the influence of any drugs or intoxicating substances that impairs your ability to provide patient care or operate a motor vehicle while in class or clinicals, while on duty or when responding or assisting in the care of a patient.Start Date, Time


Start Date, Time and Location:
Starting: Friday, January 15, 2016
Time: 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Location: Jefferson College of Health Sciences, 101 Elm Avenue, SE, Roanoke, VA  24013

Attendance Policy:
Students must be present for a minimum of eighty five percent (85% of the didactic and practical aspects of the course). However, failure to be present and successfully fulfill all skill and knowledge evaluations may still prohibit a student from course completion.

Continuing Education Credit:
This course is eligible for continuing education credit for certified providers through the Virginia Office of Emergency Medical Services.

Course Fee(s):
TBA

Estimated Additional Expenses:

  1. Drug Screen (approximately $60)
  2. Uniforms (approximately $150)
  3. National Registry Application Fee ($110)
  4. Background Check (approximately $75)
  5. FISDAP (approximately $150)
  6. Textbook (approximately $200)

Payment:
Payment* should be remitted to Jefferson College of Health Sciences Bursar’s Office at:

Jefferson College of Health Sciences
Bursar’s Office
101 Elm Avenue, SE
Roanoke, VA 24013

Phone (540) 985‐8272

*Note: Full payment must be received by due date.

No refunds will be granted after the first night of class. Students withdrawing from the course within 30 days prior to the beginning of the course may be eligible for a refund less a $150 administrative fee.

Application Link:
The following items must be completed to be accepted in to the program:

  • College Application (online)
  • Proof of high school graduation (Transcript or Diploma) or GED
  • Copy of Current CPR, EMT‐I or RN and EMT‐B **

(If you have been an Intermediate for less than one (1) year, you must have a letter of approval from your agency’s OMD)

The following things must be completed before beginning clinical/internship rotations:

For additional information contact:
John C. Cook, MBA, NREMT‐P
Director, Emergency Services Program
Phone: (540) 985‐8317
E‐mail: jccook@jchs.edu