Second Annual Be Exceptional Luncheon

Thursday, June 23, 2016 - 11:30am to 1:00pm

The Jefferson College of Health Sciences Education Foundation hosted the second annual Be Exceptional Luncheon on June 23, 2016 at the Ballroom in The Patrick Henry Ballroom at 611 S. Jefferson Street in Roanoke. The guest speaker for the luncheon was Dr. Jennifer Braaten, President of Ferrum College.

Approximately 160 friends and supporters, as well as students, faculty and staff of Jefferson College, filled the ballroom to celebrate the College and the recipients of the College’s annual alumni awards. 

The Jefferson College Alumni Awards Program was created in 2015 to honor outstanding graduates with two awards, the Distinguished Alumni Award and the Recent Alumni Achievement Award.

The most prestigious award given by the Jefferson College of Health Sciences Alumni Association, the Distinguished Alumni Award is given to members of Jefferson College’s alumni body who have achieved national, regional, statewide, or local prominence either in their professional fields or through their involvement in civic, cultural, or charitable activities. The following were named the 2016 recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Awards:

  • Sue M. Campbell ’00, Physician Assistant with Carilion Clinic’s Cardiac Surgery Department
  • Sara L. Nicely ’02, Director of the Jefferson College Physician Assistant Program & Faculty Member
  • Kim E. Roe ’84, Vice President of Carilion Clinic’s Family and Community Medicine Department

The Recent Alumni Achievement Award honors Jefferson College of Health Sciences graduates who, at the early stages of their career, have distinguished themselves and demonstrated promise of even greater achievement. These awards are given annually to graduates of the last ten years who have attained notable achievements in their field or endeavor. An alumnus/ae may receive this award only once and remains eligible for the Distinguished Alumni Award. The following were named recipients of the Recent Alumni Achievement Awards:

  • Kimberly D. Hall, ’03 & ’05, Advanced Practice Nurse in Carilion Clinic’s Level 1 Trauma Center
  • Sheila K. Lambert, ’08, Vice President of Carilion Clinic’s Hospital Operations & Pediatric Services